ACN Latitudes Forums

Pandas

I'm no expert, but my understanding is that PANDAS is just one subtype of a broader category of post-infectious autoimmune disorders called PITAND (Pediatric Infection-Triggered Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorders). I believe that researchers originally coined the term PITAND for the broader spectrum of these types of illnesses, acknowledging that many viral and bacterial triggers caused a similar set of symptoms. PANDAS identified the subgroup of patients who seemed to clearly and consistently react to GABHS infections... although even these patients exacerbated when exposed to non-strep infections after the initial strep autoimmune reaction was initiated.

So PITAND is the superset, I think, and PANDAS is the subset. Many parents on here have kids who are PITAND but not PANDAS, which is why the nice folks at ACN who host this forum changed the name to "PANDAS and PITAND" a while back. And of course, Lyme / co-infections factor into this as well, even though there's still uncertainty about whether they involve an autoimmune response.

Sigh. It's all pretty darned confusing, isn't it?

To add more confusion, it seems some of these kids start as soley PANDAS and then become PITAND as they begin to not only react to strep. Then you have other kids, like my son, that started as strep only (PANDAS), started to react to other things (PITAND), now doesn't react to non-strep triggers, but I assume (and hope I never find out) he will still react to strep itself. Confusing enough? :blink:

There's also a history of PANDAS section in the pinned threads you might find interesting. http://www.latitudes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=5144&st=0&p=36300entry36300Here's a small part of it...

ARF and the D8/17 marker

In 1989 Swedo published her study looking at 70 children with OCD over a ten year period where she noted the incredible similarity in symptoms.